Well, this is embarrassing

So I’m gonna be real here. I’m bad at following my own advice sometimes.

Burnout is real. In a lot of things. In work, hobby, passions… life. And that’s kinda where I’ve been for the past however many months. While I really do enjoy blogging, when you try to make something enjoyable a job, it’s quite easy to burn out on it.

On top of that… I’m truthfully burned out with my job. It’s not that its a bad job, or that my employers are terrible (’cause even though they have their flaws, they aren’t terrible), it’s just, the stress has been getting to me.

It’s pretty much been a gauntlet of poor communication between departments and poor execution of decent ideas. Thankfully, one of the most problematic factors of the whole thing has finally retired. Now, we just need to get past this Covid scare and hopefully things can settle down a little more.

The real question is though, if things don’t change, what can I do? What can any of us do if our jobs are getting to be too much and taking up too much of your personal time. Just because I’m a salary man, it doesn’t mean I have to think about work when I’m not there. That’s my employers problem.

I’m been actually really considering a complete career shift. I’ve got a few ideas on what to shift to, but, I haven’t 100% settled on anything. With another kid on the way, I’m not sure now would be the best time to do so. Or heck, maybe just do it all at once and say screw it.

On the flip side though, I’ve been painting my Spires for Conquest, and it’s been kind of getting rid of some of that overall life burnout. The whole force is getting close to being done, and it just looks good together. I always forget how nice a fully painted, and cohesive force looks when laid out. I’ve actually found myself WANTING to paint again, and even looking forward to it.

All that’s left is adding grass to the drones

Just another box of brutes and some vanguard drones to put together, as well as painting the Avatara.

Well, dinner is about to ding, and I still got to go make some mashed potatoes.

Thanks for reading my little vent, and I hope all is well in your end of the world.

Until next time-

Happy painting!

Leave a comment